ACRRM & RDAA Excellence Awards

Once a year at the RMA conference awards dinner, doctors working in rural and remote Australia are rewarded and celebrated for their skills, professionalism, and dedication to their communities. If you know of a GP, registrar or medical student who you believe is making a significant difference in rural and remote medicine, see below the list of awards and descriptions that might match their noteworthy achievements and nominate them today. 

Please note: Nominations for the ACRRM RDAA joint awards have closed. Watch this space for our 2023 awards. 

Don't forget to register for your ticket to the Conference Awards Dinner while registering for RMA22 to applaud winners of the below 2022 awards. 


Joint ACRRM and RDAA awards


ACRRM & RDAA Rural Registrar of the Year Award

This is awarded to an ACRRM or RDAA registrar who deserves to be recognised for their dedication to their community or to the advancement of rural health. The award carries a plaque, citation- and of course, national recognition of peers and senior practitioners.

ACRRM & RDAA Peter Graham 'Cohuna' Award

The Peter Graham 'Cohuna' Award recognises members or Fellows who have provided outstanding advocacy and medical service to their community to ensure the maintenance of the highest quality of generalist skills, particularly in procedural practice.

This award is offered in honour of the late Dr Peter Graham, AO, who passed away in 2008, aged 80. Peter provided dedicated service as a doctor in Cohuna, in rural Victoria, for nearly 50 years.


ACRRM awards

ACRRM Life Fellowship Award

Life Fellowship is the highest and most prestigious ACRRM award. It is reserved for Fellows who have rendered outstanding and meritorious service to the College and made a contribution of international significance to rural and remote medicine.


ACRRM Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership recognises exceptional and/or significant service to the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine and/or rural and remote medicine. Honorary Membership may be awarded to persons who do not have a registrable medical qualification.


ACRRM Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellowships may be awarded to medical practitioners or, in special circumstances, non-medical persons, who have provided a significant contribution to ACRRM and education, research or general service in the field of rural generalism. 


ACRRM Distinguished Service Awards

These awards recognise Fellows, members, or non-medical persons who have provided a specific and significant contribution to rural and remote medicine.


RDAA awards

RDAA Rural Doctor of the Year Award

This award recognises a member of the Rural Doctors Association of Australia (RDAA) who has displayed work 'above and beyond' the call of duty.

RDAA Medical Student of the Year Award

This is awarded to a current RDAA medical student who is dedicated to rural health. The award recipient will receive $2000 to support them in a rural health focused project, which could include a rural placement.