RMA23 ACRRM and RDAA awards

Joint ACRRM and RDAA awards

Once a year at the RMA conference awards dinner, doctors working in rural and remote Australia are rewarded and celebrated for their skills, professionalism, and dedication to their communities. If you know of a passionate medical student, registrar or rural generalist who you believe is making a significant difference in rural and remote medicine, see below the list of awards and descriptions that might match their noteworthy achievements and nominate them today. Don't forget to register for your ticket to the Conference Awards Dinner while registering for RMA23 to applaud our 2023 winners!

Rural registrar of the year


This combined ACRRM-RDAA Award recognises an ACRRM registrar for their dedication to their community or to the advancement of rural health.


This Award is open to an ACRRM registrar who is currently enrolled and undertaking Fellowship training.


Peter Graham 'Cohuna' Award

This award is offered in honour of the late Dr Peter Graham, AO, who passed away in 2008, aged 80. Peter provided dedicated service as a doctor to Cohuna, in rural Victoria, for nearly 50 years. 

The Peter Graham 'Cohuna' Award recognises an ACRRM member or Fellows who have provided outstanding advocacy and medical service to their community to ensure the maintenance of the highest quality of generalist skills, including (or especially) procedural practice.


This Award is open to College members or Fellows.

ACRRM awards

ACRRM life fellowship award

Life Fellowship is the highest and most prestigious ACRRM award. It is reserved for Fellows who have rendered outstanding and meritorious service to the College and made a contribution of international significance to rural and remote medicine.


ACRRM Honorary membership

Honorary Membership recognises exceptional and/or significant service to the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine and/or rural and remote medicine. Honorary Membership may be awarded to persons who do not have a registrable medical qualification.


ACRRM honorary fellowship

Honorary Fellowships may be awarded to medical practitioners or, in special circumstances, non-medical persons, who have provided a significant contribution to ACRRM and education, research or general service in the field of rural generalism. 


ACRRM distinguished service Award

These awards recognise Fellows, members, or non-medical persons who have provided a specific and significant contribution to rural and remote medicine.



ACRRM and RDAA acknowledge the deep history and culture of lutruwita (Tasmania) and pay respect to the muwinina people as the Traditional Owners of nipaluna (Hobart) where we will gather for RMA23. While the muwinina people are no longer here due to the impacts of colonisation, we continue to acknowledge and recognise the palawa people of the island who continue to work together to maintain their identity and culture. We acknowledge that palawa still have connections to the skies, waters and land of lutruwita.